How long do I have to report a work-related injury?
You have 30 days from the date of the accident to report your injury to your employer.
Is there anything else I need to do when filing a workers’ compensation claim?
Yes. You will also have to file a DWC-1 claim form, also known as a California workers’ compensation claim form.
What happens if I don’t file a workers’ compensation claim within 30 days of the injury?
If you don’t file a workers’ compensation claim within 30 days of the injury, you may not be able to collect workers’ compensation benefits unless you can prove that your employer knew about the injury within the 30-day time period.
What if my employer doesn’t have workers’ compensation insurance?
If your employer doesn’t have workers’ compensation insurance coverage and was not self-insured, you have the right to file suit in civil court for your medical expenses, lost wages and pain and suffering.
What if the workers’ compensation insurance company denies my claim?
If the workers’ compensation insurance company denies your claim, you may request a hearing before the California Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board.
What is California’s statue of limitations for filing a personal injury suit?
California’s statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim dictates that you have two years from the date of the injury to file a lawsuit against those responsible for your injury.
What does “shared fault” mean in California?
Simply put, “shared fault” means that the amount of compensation to which you’re entitled will be reduced by an amount equal to your percentage of fault for the accident.
I read that California is a “fault” car insurance state. What does that mean?
A “fault” car insurance state simply means that you are free to file a liability insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit against the other driver following an accident in California.
Are there minimum amounts of liability car insurance required for California drivers?
Yes. The minimum amounts of liability car insurance required in California are $15,000 for injury and/or death to one person, $30,000 for injury or death to more than one person and $5,000 for damage to private property.
Does California require drivers to carry uninsured and/or underinsured motorist coverage?